Performing Arts Festival Berlin 2018

kNoname Artist / Roderick George

Fleshless Beast

Taking influences from classical ballet, hiphop, breakdance, and modern dance, Roderick George contemplates race relations, being an immigrant, and challenges the status quo in his new piece, Fleshless Beast. Collaborating with artist LOTIC, both from Houston, Texas, they deconstruct their understandings of race, globalization, and their personal experiences through dance and music. Having received high praise by audience and critics alike at Tanztage Berlin 2016, George is back with this new piece!


CHOREOGRAPHY Roderick George MUSIC LOTIC (J'Kerian Morgan) LIGHT Tanja Ruehl DANCE Roderick George, Claudia Greco, Chiaki Horita, Josh Johnson, Max Levy, Dominic Santia REHEARSAL MANAGEMENT Harumi Terayama

 

A production by Roderick George/kNoname Artist in coproduction with SOPHIENSÆLE. The production and the revival are funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. Media partners: taz.die tageszeitung

 

Photo © Jubal Battisti

 





   

Tanz


DATES

2018
June
08 
20:30

09 
20:00

10 
18:00


Location
Festsaal


TICKETS
14/9 EURO

TICKETS ÜBER PAF


Suitable for Non-German Speakers















sophiensaele sophiensaele

kNoname Artist / Roderick George

Fleshless Beast

Roderick George war oft der einzige Schwarze Ballettschüler in Houston, Texas. Generell fehlte es ihm an Schwarzen Vorbildern in dem Bereich– ganz im Gegensatz zur Hip-Hop-Tanzszene. In Fleshless Beast lässt erden Schwarz-weiß-Gegensatz hinter sich, verbindet die unterschiedlichen Stile von klassischem Ballett bis Break Dance und unterlegt sie mit elektronischer Musik und Hip Hop. Nach dem großen Erfolg bei Publikum und Kritik bei den Tanztagen Berlin 2016, ist George nun mit neuem Stück zurück!



Roderick George studierte am SUNY Purchase College in New York und arbeitete zuletzt für die Forsythe Company. Erste eigene Arbeiten zeigte er im DanceLab des Ballett Basel. In den Sophiensælen war er zuletzt bei den Tanztagen Berlin 2016 mit seinem Stück Dust zu sehen.



CHOREOGRAFIE Roderick George MUSIK LOTIC (J'Kerian Morgan) LICHT Tanja Ruehl TANZ Olivia Ancona, Vinson Fraley, Roderick George, Dominic Santia,  Harumi Terayama, Jin Young Won PRODUKTION, MANAGEMENT Gabrielle Veyssiere ÖFFENTLICHKEITSARBEIT Bettina Ullmann

 

Eine Produktion von Roderick George/kNoname Artist in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Medienpartner: taz.die tageszeitung

 

Foto © Jubal Battisti



 

Tanz


Aufführungen

oktober
26 27 28 29 
19:30 UHR


ORT
Festsaal


TICKETS
14/9 EURO



Suitable for Non-German Speakers















sophiensaele sophiensaele